Learner Management

Learner Management enables you to manage everything about your learners, from enrolling new learners to resetting their progress.

Go to Sensei LMS > Learner Management to see a list of all courses. You can filter by course category or search for a particular course:

Learner Management

From here, learners can be managed by course or by lesson.

Manage Learners By Course

To manage your learners, locate the relevant course and click the Manage learners button. By default, a list of all learners who were ever enrolled in the course are displayed. This view can be filtered to only show those learners who are currently enrolled (Enrolled Learners), or only those are unenrolled (Unenrolled Learners):

Learner Management - Manage learners

Remove a Learner from a Course

To remove a learner’s enrollment in a course, find the appropriate learner and click the Remove manual enrollment button. After clicking OK in the dialog box that appears, the learner is no longer enrolled in the course:

Learner Management - Remove enrollment

Please note that while the learner no longer has access to the course, their progress is preserved. This means that they will be able to pick up where they left off should they enroll in the course again later.

Add a Learner to a Course

If a learner already appears in Learner Management, but are not currently enrolled in the course, they can be re-enrolled by clicking the Manually enroll learner button.

If a learner does not already appear in Learner Management, they can be added by scrolling to the bottom of the page, searching for and selecting them in the Add Learner to Course panel, and clicking the button. Multiple learners can be added in this way.

You can optionally choose to complete the course for the learner by checking the Complete course for learner box:

Learner Management - Add learner to course

Reset Progress

To reset a learner’s progress and have them start the course over from the beginning, find the learner and click the Reset progress button. This will reset the course start date and set its status to In Progress. All lessons in the course will have their start date cleared and status set to Not started.

Note that the Reset progress button is only available if the learner is currently enrolled in the course.

Remove Progress

To remove a learner’s progress, find the learner and click the Remove progress button. This will remove the learner from Learner Management, effectively deleting any progress they may already have made in the course. This means the learner will need to start the course over from the beginning should they enroll again later.

Note that the Remove progress button is only available if the learner is NOT currently enrolled in the course.

Edit the Course Start Date

You can edit the course start date by locating the learner, clicking in the text box that displays the current start date, selecting a new date from the calendar that appears, and clicking the Edit Start Date button.

Note that updating the course start date does not have any effect on the start dates of the course’s lessons.

Manage Learners by Lesson

Clicking the Lessons link displays a list of all lessons in the course:

Learner Management - Lessons

As with courses, the learners for an individual lesson can be managed by clicking the Manage learners button. By default, a list of all learners who ever viewed the lesson are displayed:

Learner Management - Manage learners by lesson

Add a Learner to a Lesson

A learner can be added to the lesson by scrolling to the bottom of the page, searching for and selecting them in the Add Learner to Lesson panel, and clicking the button. This will also enroll the learner in the course if they are not already taking it. Multiple learners can be added in this way.

You can optionally choose to complete the lesson for the learner by checking the Complete lesson for learner box. If the lesson has a quiz, the learner will automatically pass it:

Learner Management - Add learner to lesson

Reset Progress

To reset a learner’s progress and have them start the lesson over from the beginning, find the learner and click the Reset progress button. This will reset the lesson status to In Progress. If the lesson has a quiz, this will also reset the learner’s grade for that quiz and remove their answers.

Edit the Lesson Start Date

You can edit the lesson start date by locating the learner, clicking in the text box that displays the current start date, selecting a new date from the calendar that appears, and clicking the Edit Start Date button.

Back to: Getting Started with Sensei LMS