Posted on

What’s New in Sensei & Sensei Course Progress

What’s New in Sensei

We’ve just shipped the Sensei 1.10.0 release, which includes:

  • Deleting all plugin data when Sensei is deleted
  • Support for PHP 7.2
  • Revisions history for courses, lessons and questions
  • Excluding modules from the course navigation when a module has no content
  • Automatically adding the user to the course when they purchase a variable subscription product
  • A new sensei_start_course_redirect_url filter that can be used to redirect users to a different page when starting a course
  • Showing lesson tags in the sidebar and cleaning up other lesson settings when Gutenberg is enabled
  • Usage tracking for active and completed courses, as well as system info such as PHP and WordPress versions

You can find the full list of changes in the change log.

Deleting Plugin Data

In order to be GDPR-compliant, please be aware that Sensei will now delete all of its data when the plugin is deleted. This is a significant departure for anyone who has grown accustomed to deleting Sensei and then re-installing it later.

If you need to remove Sensei from your site, and there’s even the slightest chance that you may want to re-install it at some point in the future, we highly advise you take a backup of your site first. Without a backup, there will be no way to restore any of your courses, lessons, quizzes, etc.

Note that deactivating the plugin does not delete any data.

UPDATE: We’ve released Sensei 1.10.1, which introduces a new Delete data on uninstall setting. Sensei will ONLY delete data on plugin deletion when this setting is selected.

Semantic Versioning

Moving forward, Sensei releases will use semantic versioning, which dictates that major releases — those with API changes or the potential to affect extension compatibility — receive a new major version number (e.g. 2.0.0, 3.0.0). Minor releases, on the other hand, will receive a new minor version number (e.g. 1.11.0, 1.12.0), while patches will get a new patch version number (e.g. 1.10.1, 1.10.2).

We’re using this method in an attempt to better describe what each release contains, and tell you at a glance how much of an impact a release may have on your online learning site. We hope this also increases confidence in minor releases and patches, and helps you update Sensei more quickly when one of these updates is released.

What’s New in Sensei Course Progress

We’ve also released Sensei Course Progress 1.0.7, which includes:

  • Showing the widget on the module page
  • Linking the module name to the module page
  • Making the UI consistent when the Display all Modules widget setting is selected vs. when it is not
  • Russian translations

You can find the full list of changes in the change log.

What do you think of the latest releases of Sensei and Sensei Course Progress? Let us know in the comments!

13 thoughts on “What’s New in Sensei & Sensei Course Progress

  1. Regarding deleting data when the plugin is deleted: what about users who want to manually update the plugin? Ie, who temporarily deactivate the plugin, delete it, upload a new version, and then activate the new version?

    1. What you’ll want to avoid doing is clicking the “Delete” button on the Plugins page in the WordPress admin. That’s what kicks off the deletion process. You can FTP in and delete or overwrite the plugin folder as that won’t delete any data, but you’ll want to definitely stay away from deleting via the WordPress admin.

    2. We are currently re-evaluating the deletion of plugin data and will likely push a new release soon. Thx.

      1. Ya we’ve had similar discussions on our plugins and I don’t think we have a silver bullet yet, but we added a different button to deactivate-and-delete data. It’s pretty often our users will delete the plugin in order to upload an updated copy

  2. Hi! Is there an option in Sensei to send notifications to students who take a course and are not making progress? For example, schedule a notification by mail when he stopped entering the course for 15 days.

    1. There isn’t a way to do that currently, but I like this idea and it’s something we could consider doing if there were enough people interested.

  3. This “deleting sensei data” change is really scary… I think that this GDPR compliance is my responsibility not yours… So if you try to be so fair, and lawful, I think that you went to far….

    1. Please be assured that we did not make this change lightly, and it was a decision that was made only after consulting with our legal team. They informed us that we should avoid keeping plugin data indefinitely once the plugin is deleted.

      To help mitigate this, we’ve opted to move all content to the trash rather than deleting it outright. By default, WordPress keeps trashed content in your database for 30 days. After 30 days, WordPress automatically deletes all trash content permanently. So long as you have not changed or disabled this on your site, if you were to re-activate Sensei within those 30 days, you would still be able to restore courses, lessons, questions etc. from the trash.

      Some data though, such as settings, are deleted immediately once the plugin is deleted, and could only be restored from a backup.

    2. We are currently re-evaluating the deletion of plugin data and will likely push a new release soon. Thx.

  4. Hi,
    Good news. however, I smoke tested the new update. major issue is there.
    in the course page, lessons list is duplicated when module collapse plugin is enabled.

    1.10.1 urgently please 🙂

    1. Hi there!

      Thanks so much for reporting this issue.

      I’ve taken a close look, and it looks like the problem is with the Module Collapse plugin, not with Sensei. Specifically, the code linked below does a version comparison using strings, instead of using PHP’s `version_compare` function. This makes the plugin logic treat the new version, “1.10.0”, as if it comes *before* 1.9.x instead of *after*, and so it renders old, deprecated content, along with new content.

      https://plugins.trac.wordpress.org/browser/pango-sensei-module-collapse/trunk/classes/class-sensei-module-collapse.php#L135

      The fix may be as simple as changing that line to the following:

      `if ( version_compare( $version, ‘1.9’ ) >= 0 )`

      But I can’t guarantee that is the only necessary change.

      I hope this helps! Thanks again for reporting 🙂

      1. Hi Alex,
        you’re awesome, that works just perfectly.

        for those who have same problem, small change, line 136 in class-sensei-module-collapse.php should be replace by
        If ( version_compare( $version, “1.9” )) {

        Thank you Alex!

  5. Just wanted to let everyone know that we’ve just released Sensei 1.10.1, which introduces a new “Delete data on uninstall” setting. Sensei will ONLY delete data on plugin deletion when this setting is selected. Cheers!

Leave a Reply